News Release

20 new temples and a new Primary General Presidency announced at April 2021 General Conference

Three locations are in Europe: Brussels, Oslo and Vienna

The 191st General Conference of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, held on Saturday, April 3rd and on Sunday, April 4th of 2021, originating from the Conference Center in Salt Lake City, Utah, United States of America, included the announcement of new General Authorities, the sustaining of a new Primary General Presidency and the announcement of the construction of 20 new temples.

A leadership meeting took place on Thursday, April 1st, 2021, and was attended in person and digitally by some 300 General Authorities, General Officers and Area Seventies. The First Presidency and the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles gave counsel and direction to the Church leaders.

Russell M. Nelson, President of the Church, said that during the pandemic “we learned that we do not have to get on airplanes for our testimonies to encircle the globe.” In fact, he said, the words of Church leaders “reached an unprecedented number of people in the year 2020”. The Church president also noted the growth in the faith’s humanitarian efforts in 2020. He also mentioned the assistance the Church was able to provide. “Contributions of time, money and personal service have been offered in a spirit of generosity and love for those in need in 152 countries,” he said. Prior to this instruction, the names of 77 new Area Seventies were presented for a sustaining vote.

During the Saturday evening session, the calls of 11 new leaders were announced. These calls comprise eight General Authority Seventies and a new Primary General Presidency.

General Authority Seventies serve in the Presidency of the Seventy, in area presidencies and in other headquarters administrative functions. Under the direction of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, they travel frequently to meet with and teach Church leaders, missionaries and members of the Church in local congregations. They have authority to serve anywhere in the world, while the authority of Area Seventies is generally limited to the area where they serve.

The new General Authority Seventies are Elder Sean Douglas, Elder Michael Dunn, Elder Clark G. Gilbert, Elder Patricio M. Giuffra, Elder Alfred Kyungu, Elder Alvin F. Meredith III, Elder Carlos G. Revillo Jr and Elder Vaiangina Sikahema.

The Primary presidency oversees the Church’s organization that teaches children ages 18 months to 11 years the gospel of Jesus Christ and helps them live its principles. These leaders serve under the direction of the First Presidency and travel frequently to help guide and support the children and their local leaders. The new Primary General Presidency is comprised by Sister Camille N. Johnson, President, Sister Susan H. Porter, First Counselor and Sister Amy Wright, Second Counselor.

Released from the Presidency of the Seventy (effective August 1, 2021) were Elder Robert C. Gay and Elder Terence M. Vinson. New members called for the Presidency of the Seventy are Elder Paul V. Johnson, who has previously served as the Europe Area President and Elder Mark S. Palmer.

The Sunday morning session, dubbed Easter General Conference session, was distinctly international, reflecting a global Church. It was aired live in an unprecedented number of TV and radio stations in the four corners of the earth, reaching millions of people. Each speaker of this session hailed from a different country — and the prerecorded music was performed by a variety of choirs from around the world singing in their native languages.

President Russell M. Nelson anchored the Sabbath day gathering, testifying to his vast audience that the restored gospel of Jesus Christ delivers hope to a divided, weary world.

“My dear brothers and sisters, my call to you this Easter morning is to start today to increase your faith,” the Church President said. “Through your faith, Jesus Christ will increase your ability to move the mountains in your life, even though your personal challenges may loom as large as Mount Everest.”

In the last session of the conference, President Russell M. Nelson announced plans to build 20 new temples throughout the world – three of them in countries that are Europe. The temples will be constructed in the following locations:

  • Oslo, Norway
  • Brussels, Belgium
  • Vienna, Austria
  • Kumasi, Ghana
  • Beira, Mozambique
  • Cape Town, South Africa
  • Singapore, Republic of Singapore
  • Belo Horizonte, Brazil
  • Cali, Colombia
  • Querétaro, México
  • Torreón, México
  • Helena, Montana
  • Casper, Wyoming
  • Grand Junction, Colorado
  • Farmington, New Mexico
  • Burley, Idaho
  • Eugene, Oregon
  • Elko, Nevada
  • Yorba Linda, California
  • Smithfield, Utah

This is the second-highest number of temples announced at one time in the history of the Church. At the April 1998 general conference, former Church President Gordon B. Hinckley (1910–2008) announced plans to construct as many as 32 new temples, though he did not list specific locations.

President Nelson’s announcement of 20 new temples and their locations is unique not simply because of the historic number with specific locations.

The Church of Jesus Christ now has 251 temples announced, under construction or operating.

Style Guide Note:When reporting about The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, please use the complete name of the Church in the first reference. For more information on the use of the name of the Church, go to our online Style Guide.